Skip To Content

Athabasca University

Bibliography of Works by Austin Clarke


The Survivors of the Crossing. Toronto: McClelland & Stewart, 1964.

The Meeting Point. Toronto: Macmillan, 1967.

Storm of Fortune. Boston: Little Brown, 1973.

The Bigger Light. Boston: Little Brown, 1975.

The Prime Minister. Don Mills, Ont.: General Publishing, 1977. Exile Editions, 1994.

Proud Empires. London: Gollancz, 1988.

The Origin of Waves. Toronto: McClelland & Stewart, 1997.

The Question. Toronto: McClelland & Stewart, 1999.

The Polished Hoe. Toronto: Thomas Allen, 2002.

There are no Elders. Toronto: Exile Editions, 2007.

Short Stories

Amongst Thistles and Thorns. Toronto: McClelland & Stewart, 1965.

When He Was Free and Young and He Used to Wear Silks. Toronto: Anansi, 1971.

When Women Rule. Toronto: McClelland and Stewart, 1985.

Nine Men Who Laughed. Toronto: Penguin, 1986.

In This City. Toronto: Exile Editions, 1992.

There Are No Elders. Toronto: Exile Editions, 1993.

The Austin Clarke Reader. Ed. Barry Callaghan. Toronto: Exile Editions, 1996.

Choosing his Coffin: the best stories of Austin Clarke. Toronto: T. Allen Publishers, 2003.


Growing up Stupid Under the Union Jack: a memoir. Toronto: McClelland & Stewart, 1980.

Public Enemies: police violence and black youth. Toronto: HarperCollins, 1992.

A Passage Back Home: a personal reminiscence of Samuel Selvon, Toronto: Exile Editions, 1994.

Pigtails 'n' Breadfruit: The Rituals of Slave Food, A Barbadian Memoir. Toronto: Random House, 1999. University of Toronto Press, 2001.

Growing up Stupid Under the Union Jack: a memoir. Toronto: T. Allen Publishers, 2005.

Updated February 12 2015 by Student & Academic Services

AU, CANADA'S OPEN UNIVERSITY, is an internationally recognized leader in online and distance learning.