Skip To Content

Athabasca University

Bibliography of Works by Margaret Atwood


Double Persephone. Toronto: Hawkshead Press. 1961.

The Circle Game. Toronto: House of Anansi, 1964.

The Animals in that Country. Boston: Little Brown, 1968.

The Journals of Susanna Moodie. Toronto: Oxford University Press, 1970.

Procedures for Underground. Toronto: Oxford University Press, 1970.

Power Politics. Toronto: Anansi, 1971.

You are happy. Toronto: Oxford University Press, 1974.

Selected Poems. Toronto: Oxford University Press, 1976.

Two-headed poems. Toronto: Oxford University Press, 1978.

True Stories. Toronto: Oxford University Press, 1981.

Murder in the Dark: short fictions and prose poems. Toronto: Coach House Press, 1983.

Interlunar: poems. Toronto: Oxford University Press, 1984.

Selected Poems II (1976-1986). Toronto: Oxford University Press, 1986.

Selected Poems (1965-1975). Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1987.

Morning in a Burning House. Toronto: McCelland & Stewart, 1995.

Eating Fire: Selected Poetry 1965-1995. Toronto: Oxford University Press, 1998.


The Edible Woman. Toronto: McClelland & Stewart, 1969.

Surfacing. Toronto: Markam, Ontario: Paperjacks, 1972.

Lady Oracle. Toronto: McClelland & Stewart, 1976.

Life Before Man. Toronto: McClelland & Stewart, 1979.

Bodily Harm. Toronto: McClelland & Stewart, 1981.

The Handmaid’s Tale. Toronto: McClelland & Stewart, 1985.

The Cat’s Eye. Toronto: McClelland & Stewart, 1988.

The Robber Bride. Toronto: McClelland & Stewart, 1993.

Alias Grace. Toronto: Seal Books, 1996.

The Blind Assassin. Toronto: Random House, 2000.

Oryx & Crake. Toronto: Random House, 2003.

Moral Disorder. Toronto: McClelland & Stewart, 2006.

The Penelopiad. Toronto: Vintage Canada, 2006.

Short Stories

Dancing Girls and Other Stories. Toronto: McClelland & Stewart, 1977.

Bluebeard’s Egg. Toronto: McClelland & Stewart, 1983.

Murder in the Dark: short fiction & prose poems. Toronto: Coach House Press, 1983.

Wilderness Tips and Other Stories. Toronto: McClelland & Stewart, 1991.

Good Bones. Toronto, 1992.

Bottle. Hay-on-Wye: Hay Festival Press, 2004.

The Tent. New York: Doubleday, 2006

Children’s Literature

Up in the Tree. Toronto: Groundwood Books, 2006.

Bashful Bob and Doleful Dorinda. Toronto: Key Porter Kids, 2004.

Rude Ramsay and the Roaring Radishes. Toronto: Key Porter Books, 2003.

Princess Prunella and the Purple Peanut. Toronto: Key Porter Kids, 1995.

For the Birds. Buffalo, N.Y.: Firefly Books, 1990.

with Joyce Barkhouse. Anna’s Pet. Toronto: J. Lorimer, 1980.

Criticism by Margaret Atwood

Survival: A Thematic Guide to Canadian Literature. Toronto: Anansi, 1972.

Second Words: Selected Critical Prose. Toronto: Anansi, 1982.

Strange Things: The malevolent North in Canadian Literature. Toronto: 1995.

Negotiating with the Dead: A Writer on Writing. New York: Cambridge University Press. 2002.

Survival: a thematic guide to Canadian literature. Toronto: McClelland & Stewart, 2004.

Books Edited by Margaret Atwood

The New Oxford Book of Canadian Verse in English. Ed. Margaret Atwood. Toronto: Oxford, 1982.

The Oxford Book of Canadian Short Stories. Ed. Margaret Atwood and Robert Weaver. Toronto: Oxford, 1995.

Updated February 12 2015 by Student & Academic Services

AU, CANADA'S OPEN UNIVERSITY, is an internationally recognized leader in online and distance learning.